crops ruined?

Putt

Old Mossy Horns
I wonder how much the farmers are now affected by all this rain. Its going to take at least 10-15 days to dry up enough to even get a tractor in the field... How much is ruined due to moisture and mold??

Firefly

Old Mossy Horns
Yeah I wouldn't doubt quite a bit of the crops might be ruined, not enough rain at times and then tons too much of it.. I just would not farm for a living nowdays..

WakeHunter32

Eight Pointer
Really concerned with the cotton fields down east... Most of the crops were ready to be picked and this much rain will/could knock most of that cotton off the plant. Pumpkins will be soaked and get moldy quick. Going to be a rough time for our farmers. Hope it doesn't mess them up.

pattersonj11

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I would be spending these rainy days putting on flotation tires. For tobacco, may even want to hook trailers to a tracked tractor. I don't see a tobacco harvester being any good for the next few weeks.

Mike Noles aka conman

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
Cotton is the biggest concern, especially if we start getting tropical force winds. Most of the corn and tobacco is picked and beans can stand 'till it dries. Ground fruits are doomed.

Avery Creek

Twelve Pointer
Summer drought crushed the corn harvest here, most corn fields around me were bush hogged several weeks ago. Beans may be okay after this rain. The rains over the next few days will put some moisture in the ground for wheat planting. I saw a few cotton fields being picked earlier this week, I guess they were gonna get what they could get before it was lost to rain/wind.

KTMan

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
Tobacco is going to start getting Black Tip. Buyers are still have plenty tobacco left from last year. Buyers are not even wanted this years tobacco as it is (thus the low prices) and they sure don't want it with black tip or any other damage.

41magnum

Twelve Pointer