Bogue Sound Fishing Advice Needed

Scalf

Eight Pointer
Hey guys I just moved from the mountains down to Emerald Isle and I'm wanting to catch some fish out the sound. I don't have a boat or kayak or anything yet but plan on getting one some day. I went about a week ago and threw my cast net off of a dock for a good 45 minutes (trying to catch bait) and couldn't catch anything. My question is, do pin fish, mullet, shrimp etc run through the sound in the colder months? Is it pretty good fishing off the public docks for reds and spots or am I just wasting my time? The dock goes out pretty far and it looks like good fishing. I'm pretty new to the saltwater fishing thing, though I have done it before with some success and I can throw the crap out of a cast net lol

Thanks in advance!

23mako

Ten Pointer
It is getting pretty late in the year especially to be catching much of anything with the cast net.

Firefly knows that area and can put you in the right direction. My advice to you would be start saving now so you can buy a kayak or a boat. You are near Hammock's Beach State Park which has some good inshore fishing in the series of marshes behind it. Do you have waders? That will allow you to at least wade into some decent spots. Check out google earth for some places. Bogue Inlet Pier can be a good place to fish as well. http://www.bogueinletpier.com/currentfishingreport.htm

Fishing at the point of emerald isle is a good spot when the blues, spanish, albacore and other fish are running.

Firefly

Old Mossy Horns