Chufa p!ot.

Lucky Clucker

Old Mossy Horns
How many plant chufa for turkeys? I just checked my plot and send the coons and turkeys have already dug up the chufa and eat it all ,how do you keep coons out and away?

Eggman

Twelve Pointer
How large was the plot? I have been planting chuff for several years and started with the same issues. First I had to make them larger. Second put out lots of seed. When you think you have to much double it! Last plant it deep. These are large seeds. They have lots on energy to sprout from being covered deep. Chufa loves nitrogen so give it plenty once it starts growing.

KTMan

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
Another thing you can try is to soak seeds in water prior to planting. This will jump start germination.

wolfman

Old Mossy Horns
I usually give the land owner a 50lb bag he plants one plot but I couldn't find any this year. Anyone know of a place that carries chufa in the Raleigh area?

country

Ten Pointer
Ordered mine on nwtf website. It arrived in few days. Website price includes shipping. Discount if you are nwtf member. Very satisfied with it. Planted it at end of May. 6" tall already. Put out nitrogen this evening ahead of rain.

country

Ten Pointer
Coons and squirrels will get their share. Larger plot size and planting it heavy help offset that. I have one plot where it is a bit thin near edge due to the squirrels.

jug

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I order chufa from Hancock seed. You can grow chufa in small plots but the friggin squirrels will dig it up more than coons. Plant it deep is the best bet.

Bfoot130

Button Buck
df028d81e221af08fe46f645779b5324.jpg

This is my first year planting chufa and I am happy with results so far. Planted this first week of June.

country

Ten Pointer
Turkeys not messing with my chufa yet. First time I have planted it in this area. Figured they would be digging in it by now.
Any thoughts?

Last edited:

Pimpscoe

Eight Pointer