looking at boat electronics-fish/depth finders

Tarheeler

Twelve Pointer
Son looking to buy some electronics for a 2072 seaark he has ordered. Looking probably to get a unit such as the Lowrance HDS7/9 but they are pricey, anyone here with experience with them or with anything comparable. Pro' or Con's

Bailey Boat

Twelve Pointer
I am a firm believer in Lowrance electronics, IMHO, the best available. I currently have an Elite-7 CHIRP and love it. I'm still learning some of the finer points but the unit is great. On all of my last boats I have had Lowrance and never regretted paying a little more.

Bruiser

Old Mossy Horns
Tons of great info on this site(see below). I was looking at a new unit last year at this time. I wasted alot of time talking with folks (retail locations) that knew nothing about electronics.

I stumbled on thehulltruth.com....and started reading and reading and reading! I quickly learned Gil with semperfifishing is THE MAN!! He knows all there is to know about every unit out there. The best part...he will talk as long as needed, answer all questions in detail etc etc....I would read on your own, determine YOUR needs and $ amount you want to invest....then call Si, you won't regret it.

I was looking at hummingbird, lowrance and Garmin. I purchased the Garmin 94svchirp, and absolutely love the unit. Good luck!

http://www.thehulltruth.com/semperfifishing-marine-electronics-transducer-sales-135/

Last edited:

oldest school

Old Mossy Horns
what type of fishing will you be doing? are you probing deep water a lot? do you need the wide screen? do you want the contour lake bottom features?

If not the cheaper lowrance units work great for crappie and bass, structure, and bait.

i will say though that a new boat is the time to get what you want in electronics, you dont need to buy them twice. as in an upgrade soon after purchase.

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor