Shooting ducks on the water?

Jack's PA

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
I am new to duck hunting. Only been a couple of times. Missed only two shots I have attempted.

I have not shot at ducks on the water. Last time out I had several land in the decoys but I chose not to shoot.

When they got up it was going away and I didn't want to shoot them in the butt.

What to do? Is it "ok" to shoot them on the water?

Crappie_Hunter

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
It aint against the law if that's what your asking. I imagine the responses to this will be about the same as the shooting hens thread. My thoughts are this, the hard part is tricking a duck into thinking those are his buddies sitting on the water and getting him to land amongst a bunch of plastic decoys. Not making a shot.

I have no problem with the ground swat. It impresses me more when you can get a duck to land in the spread, than it does pass shooting them at 35yds.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have no problem with a water swat especially on woodies. Can't count the number of times those antisocial creatures have buzzed my decoys and the swam to the edge to investigate. Not the preferred method but at the end of the day who really cares? Your ethics are different than mine and so on. Don't care for shooting them flying away but again that's my ethics. I find there's too much room for error and producing a cripple that could fly for several hundred yards before dying.

woodmoose

Administrator
Staff member
Contributor
folks advocate waiting till deer/elk/etc stop before killing them,,,,,but then shoot upland birds and ducks flying as fast as they can,,,,,,,

folks say to shoot turkeys sitting when they stick their heads up and stop,,,,,with shotguns,,,,,,,but doing the same with a rifle is "bad",,,,,,,,,

we shoot squirrels in the head,,,,but doing it to some other creature is "wrong",,,,,,,,

it's all about what is right to you,,,,and what's legal,,,,,,,