Oroville Dam Failure???

FITZH2O

Old Mossy Horns
I hope it holds. As much as I hate the dumb stuff that comes out of California, this could potentially devastate a lot of people initially and the loss of that water would hurt the farmers that rely on it.

brownisdown

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
As a structural engineer I don't envy the guys staying up all night trying to determine if/when it's going to go.

shadycove

Twelve Pointer
We too will soon feel the pain of this, Oroville Lake flows into the Feather River and on to the Sacramento River which cuts thru 100+/- miles of some of the most productive farmland in the USA.
Grocery prices are headed up for sure and if that cut undermines the entire dam to the point that it fails, it could wipe out several large cities including Sacramento. Big trouble brewing for sure. Pray for them, they're gonna need it.

Last edited:

chevync20

Twelve Pointer
It seems the evacuation was a little late in my opinion. Hard to move 200,000 residents and have them leave instantly. Hopefully everyone is safe.

appmtnhntr

Twelve Pointer
Definitely an engineering and logistical nightmare for sure.

One has to think, with the outrageous tax burden imposed on CA citizens, how could Public works like this be so mismanaged?

oldest school

Old Mossy Horns
Looks like the flow is lessening so there wont be the flooding predicted.

the detail i read was a concern that the spillway would release more water than would stay in the banks of teh river downstream, not that the whole dan would fail.

mekanizm

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor