Float Hunting

JJWise

Twelve Pointer
I just received an 8ft (I think) plastic jon boat. I don't want to mess with putting a motor on it so I was planning on just paddling it down some streams and lakes around here. I found the regulations on what I have to have to be legal, but I can't find any rules about carrying a firearm for hunting while in the boat. At home I knew a lot of people who'd float down creeks and small rivers and jump shoot ducks from their boats but I've never tried it before. Any tips y'all have or where to find the laws concerning firearms would be great.

Soilman

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
Only place I know of that you can't have a gun in your boat is the Cape Fear River in Bladen County. Check your the local laws in the Regulations. Don't try to put in at most State Park boat ramps either. Firearms in State Parks are a no-no. Other than that use common sense, good judgement, and have fun.

JJWise

Twelve Pointer
I'm in Craven County, I'll probably be on the lakes in Croatan but I might see if I can't find some places to launch and float creeks as well. Do you know if you have to keep the gun unloaded until you're ready to fire or anything like that?

Soilman

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
I'm in Craven also. No, as far as I know, (and have done myself) you can load up anytime. Just for safety, I usually don't put one in the chamber until I'm in the boat. Be aware that anywhere on the Croatan is 2 days a week for ducks. Tuesdays and Saturdays I believe, plus a few holidays.

JJWise

Twelve Pointer
I'm in Craven also. No, as far as I know, (and have done myself) you can load up anytime. Just for safety, I usually don't put one in the chamber until I'm in the boat. Be aware that anywhere on the Croatan is 2 days a week for ducks. Tuesdays and Saturdays I believe, plus a few holidays.