Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: For those video tape - What would be a good starter camera

razuber

Default For those video tape - What would be a good starter camera

For those who video tape, what is a good inexpensive video that I can start out with? I can not justify a $2000 video camera . Is there a lower end Canon or Sony that would work?

Thanks and good luck this season.

wlfmachine

GoPro!

Sent from my SCH-S720C using Tapatalk 2

in for this one too..been looking at the cannon G20 but it is a bit out of my price range for the time being

Six Pointer

I had been talking about filming hunts for a couple years. Caved in late last year and bought the canon vixia hf g30. It is under your 2k number above, but still not cheap. I used it on a hunt a couple weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised with the quality.

Very user friendly.
    High Quality footage.
    Good under low light conditions.

I'm no expert, but for what I will be using it for, I give it an A. Will be using it to (attempt to) film some long range hunts out west in a few weeks.
    Last edited by BiggestSpikeYouEverSeen; 10-04-2014 at 01:01 PM.

Canon vixia G20, Rode shotgun mic, Lanc remote, Muddy camera arm.
    Shooting 2012 ELITE Answer

razuber

Thanks guys, I was thinking the same thing. I also see the Campbell's writes a great deal on the Canon Vixia or the HF S series a lot. I am going to try to pick one up. I really like the G20, and he Rode external mic. That would be a great setup. Thanks for the input, and good luck this season.

Twelve Pointer

Quote Originally Posted by razuber View Post
    Thanks guys, I was thinking the same thing. I also see the Campbell's writes a great deal on the Canon Vixia or the HF S series a lot. I am going to try to pick one up. I really like the G20, and he Rode external mic. That would be a great setup. Thanks for the input, and good luck this season.