Venous dermatitis? Graphic

straightline

Ten Pointer
Anyone ever heard of this? My mom was diagnosed with poison about two weeks ago but now they don't know. This is by far the nastiest infection I've ever seen with something eating the skin away. We had to admit her to the hospital and now they are running tests to try and determine what it is but "venous dermatitis" is the early diagnosis. I'm no doctor but I know this ain't poison.

7e9c595113695c90fbbc112e4e41e40e.jpg

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bigfootinnb

Praying for a quick recovery

Sent from my XT1055 using Tapatalk

Blackwater

Twelve Pointer
That has to be scary for her. Has she any history of diabetes? Hope they can get that taken care of and soon. Prayers for your Mom.

odie408

Ten Pointer
Prayers for that. Could it be a reaction to meds? Neosporin use for a while or under a bandage seems to eat flesh on me.

straightline

Ten Pointer
She has not been in the garden or anywhere other than her yard. Meds have not changed either. They were thinking along the lines of diabetes but she is good there also. She lives alone and is one strong willed, independent woman so I had not been by since last Tuesday. Had I not stopped by yesterday there is no telling how bad it would have gotten. When I talked to her on the phone she said it was just a little sore on there. Just a PSA for those with aging parents especially ones who stay alone. Keep a check on them as you never know. Thanks for the suggestions and thoughts and hopefully the white coats can figure it out.

CountryRN

Twelve Pointer
Prayers for healing. Does she happen to smoke or have a history of heart or vascular disease. They look very much like stasis ulcers to me.

straightline

Ten Pointer
Prayers for healing. Does she happen to smoke or have a history of heart or vascular disease. They look very much like stasis ulcers to me.