What lures should I buy?

Scalf

Eight Pointer
Hey guys I recently bought a kayak or fishing and I'm going to take it out tomorrow to chase some specks in a creek that I always see people parked at.. So in assuming the fish are holding there. I'm new to saltwater fishing and just wondered what artificials you would recommend. I bought some jig heads and gulp shrimp in a few different colors but idk if they're hitting shrimp in this cold weather. I also have some artifial mullet and frozen mullet. Should I get some twisty tail grubs or?? Any advice is appreciated!
Also, I know that I should retrieve really slow, but what kind of action should I give it? Do you just twitch it a few times and let it sit for a second or what?

Crappie_Hunter

Twelve Pointer
Contributor
IMO the gulp shrimp will be good. As far as the action, I would start with an extremely slow presentation and speed up if that wasn't producing strikes. Good luck!

bryguy

Old Mossy Horns
Mirrolures........best cold water trout bait there is

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

CBD21

Eight Pointer
Another vote for mirrolures and soft plastics like the redfish magic in electric chicken color. The gulp shrimp should produce as well.

bgbuckdwn

If using the gulp shrimp on a jig head try a dropper loop 6-8in up from the jig and tie on a bare hook and put a gulp minnow or curly tail grub on it, fish it like you would without the extra hook and you'll be surprised how many fish will hit the top hook

Sent from my XT1031 using Tapatalk

Wildlifer

Old Mossy Horns
All good advise. Suspending mirrors lures, gulp with the smallest jig head you can fish with, Bgbuckdown- I have never tried that, pretty much a drop shot rig, good idea! Try to find deep holes and the mouths of creeks. Stay away from north facing banks and focus on dark colored bottom on banks that get morning sun.

F-V_DuxNBux

Eight Pointer