Small Game 1st Time Hunter

NitroRoo

Button Buck
Hi everyone. Glad to have found this forum tonight. Just started reading some posts and still have a lot to learn.

I am looking to teach my son to hunt, and want to start us out small with small game (squirrel, rabbit, etc). Problem is I was raised by a non-hunting family so I have just as much to learn as my son does (he's 12 I'm 35). Other than a dove hunting day and one unsuccessful deer hunt as a teenager I have no experience hunting (but I am comfortable with firearms and firearm safety).

I bought my son a Ruger 10/22 for Christmas and we've been having an awesome time target shooting etc. We both took the NC hunter education course in January and I got my license.

I know the end of this month is the end of the season, and I was really hoping to take him out one time before the season ends. And that pretty much leaves just this weekend.

We live in Charlotte and I'm willing to drive, but I'm hoping someone here might have some advice. I'm mainly concerned about running into other hunters... I don't want to spoil someone else's day by walking through the woods where others are hunting (or worse, be mistaken for game ourselves!) We will obviously wear orange etc... just hoping someone has some advice. I've seen quite a few people say Uwharrie on the weekend during deer season is like a war zone so I just want to have the best experience for him possible.

Any advice is appreciated!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G870A using Tapatalk

nccatfisher

Old Mossy Horns
Contributor
The majority of times it isn't a big deal with any of the small game hunters if you walk up on them by mistake. Just speak, and move on to another area if it is prime time. More times than not you will wind up in a conversation with them unless as I said it is prime time. It is totally the opposite as big game hunting.

Just do your best to practice safe hunting/shooting and as you said wear orange and you shouldn't have any issues at all.